The Seven Chakras

The colour palette for our latest Resort Collection was inspired by the powerful hues that represent the 7 Chakras.

 ‘Chakra’ in Sanskrit means disc or spinning wheel of energy or wheel of light. Within your chakras, there is ‘prana’ or life force energy and is organized in its flow through your physical body-mind. The seven major chakras are the centres in our bodies in which energy flows through. They are positioned throughout the body, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, depicted through a specific chakra colour.



The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually ~ Wisdom, transcendence, universality.

The crown chakra gives us access to higher states of consciousness as we open to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. The function of the Crown chakra is driven by consciousness and gets us in touch with the universal. The Sanskrit name ‘Sahasrara’ can be translated as ‘Thousand petals’.

The seventh chakra, located at the very top of the head.



Our ability to focus on and see the big picture ~ Extrasensory perception, intuition, inspiration.

The third eye chakra is the centre of intuition and foresight. The function of the third eye chakra is driven by the principle of openness and imagination. ‘Ajna’, in Sanskrit meaning ‘command and perceiving’. 

The sixth chakra, located on the forehead, between the eyebrows.



Our ability to communicate ~ Personal truth, etheric, expression.

The Throat is the passage of the energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. The function of the Throat chakra is driven by the principle of expression and communication. In Sanskrit ‘Vishuddha’ means ‘pure’ or ‘purification’.

The fifth chakra, located at the centre of the neck at the level of the throat.



Our ability to love ~ compassion, love, integration.

The heart chakra colours our lives with compassion, love, and beauty. Driven by the principles of transformation and integration, the fourth energy centre is said to bridge earthly and spiritual aspirations. In Sanskrit, ‘Anahata’ meaning ‘unstruck’.

 The fourth chakra, located at the centre of the chest just above the heart.


Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives ~ will, social self, power.

Characterized by the expression of will, personal power, and mental abilities, the energy of the third chakra or ‘Manipura’ in Sanskrit is mobilized when we assert ourselves in the world. 

The third chakra, located in the upper abdomen in the stomach area.




Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences ~ Emotions, creativity, sexuality.


The sacral chakra is associated with the realm of emotions and creativity. It’s the centre of our feelings and sensations and is instrumental in developing flexibility in our life. It’s particularly active in our sexuality and the expression of our sensual desires. ‘Svadhisthana’, in Sanskrit which literally translates to ‘your own place’.

 The second chakra, located about three inches below the navel, at the centre of your lower belly.



Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded ~ Safety, grounding, right to live.

The Root chakra provides the foundation on which we build our life. It supports us in growing and feeling safe into exploring all the aspects of life. It is related to our feeling of safety and security. The root chakra is where we ground ourselves into the earth and anchor our energy into the world. In Sanskrit ‘Muladhara’ translates as ‘base’ or ‘foundation’.

The first chakra, located at the base of the spine. 

Read more about the unique travel experience behind the collection.


Leave a comment